Published on [Permalink]
Reading time: 2 minutes
Posted in:

Gratitude

This was a lovely Christmas.

Oddly, however, I find that I’ve been thinking about the five-year anniversary of my esophageal cancer. I had some choices as to therapy, but basically all the advice was to first nuke the tumor with chemo- and radiation-therapy, and then to remove it (along with the rest of the esphagous and the top third of the stomach) with surgery. It was a Pretty Big Deal, and I’ve since learned that there is a 7% five-year survival rate.

Wikipedia has a page listing all of the people with Wikipedia pages who died of esophageal cancer. I’ll list a few of the 434 here:

I notice some patterns: quite a few relatives of Queen Victoria; at least two actors from Hogan’s Heroes. There are, in fact, many actors — which might reflect Wikipedia’s bias; or, perhaps, it’s due to there being two different types of esophageal cancer, one of which (not mine) is made more likely by strong drink and smoking.

But regardless, I feel very fortunate.